Thursday, December 14, 2006

Kavango-Zambezi Transfrontier Park agreement reports the signing in early December of a Memorandum of Understanding among Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Namibia and Angola, that lays the foundation for the establishment of the Kavango-Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area . The area covers 30,000 square kilometres, encompassing the Okavango and Zambezi river basin, including a total of 36 national parks, game reserves, community wildlife areas and wildlife management areas such as Victoria Falls, Okavango Delta, Chobe Game Reserve and Caprivi Strip. The new protected area will be the 14th cross border conservation area in the Southern African Development Community (SADC). In HOORC’s Library you can find Rachel Demotts’ dissertation about the politics of transfrontier park development, Democratic environments? conservation and development across Southern African borders.

No comments: